The Woes of a Backlogged Bookshelf

As a writer, I read a lot…or at least I used to. Several of my professors in college insist reading is the best way to spark creativity, and seeing as I’ve hit a monster-sized bout of writer’s block, I’m going to give it a try.

I was looking for best sellers on Amazon, and I was like a kid in a candy store. When I realized just how little money I have, however, I decided that’s not the best route to take. I mean, why would I go buy more books when I have mountains of them (most of them unread)? It’s time to cut down on the book-based clutter; I’m getting some must-reads off my list.

My goals are small to start with. I’m going to read two books from my poor, neglected bookshelf, and the goal is to finish both of them by the end of February.

But which books am I reading?

The first is “Torch” by Cheryl Strayed. I bought this book a while ago–maybe a year–and I pick it up once in a while (if only to ask myself why I don’t seem to read anymore).

The second is “Room” by Emma Donoghue. I took an English class at the local community college about three years ago, the teacher talked about how great the book was, and I rushed out to buy it. It hasn’t crossed my mind since I put it on the shelf.

The quest for creativity and a clutter-free bookshelf starts now, folks. Follow me on Twitter for periodic updates!

One thought on “The Woes of a Backlogged Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

