Daily Creativity

As you may have guessed from my last post, I’m gradually adding time to craft back into my schedule.  I’m thrilled.  I can’t tell you how much happier I am when I have “creative-time” to look forward to.  Are you having trouble working that sort of time in?  Maybe I can help.  Here’s how I make creative time get along with daily tasks.

Do you keep a planner or organizer?  I know I do.

However, I wasn’t always in love with planners.  I had this weird obsession of making it “perfect” and “pretty,” and that took time away from what I actually had to do.  I ditched the idea.  Checklists on random scraps of papePlannerr were everywhere.  Let me tell you–it wasn’t pretty, and it was nowhere near perfect.

“Where’d that checklist go?”

I drew the line in the middle of May and told myself enough was enough.  The checklists had to go.  I started using my planner again, and I can’t tell you how helpful it is.

So what?

It’s part of my creative time, and I do it once a week.  Seriously.  I break out some washi tape, highlighters, and assorted pens to decorate a little.  While the result isn’t perfect, the process is therapeutic.  I feel like I’m getting something done, but I’m also making a mundane task to work for me.

Bonus points if you’re a hardcore planner nerd.  Get on YouTube to look up “Plan With Me” videos.  These folks know “pretty!”

 

Leave a Reply

